Singer and songwriter Geneviève Bellemare announced that her debut album “Melancholy Fever” will be released September 18th, 2015. The 12 song LP is available now for pre-order on iTunes and most digital service providers.

Recorded in London and L.A., Melancholy Fever arrives as the follow-up to Bellemare’s 2014 debut EP Live and Die, which NPR hailed as “carefully composed, but her singing makes it all feel intuitive.” On the new album Bellemare worked with producers Mitchell Froom (Paul McCartney, Elvis Costello), Tony Berg (Nickel Creek), Paul O’Duffy (Amy Winehouse), and Busbee (Ingrid Michaelson) to dream up a brightly arranged breed of pop, which, when paired with classic drum breaks, results in a stark and soulful sound that isn’t easily categorized.

The lead single “Shenanigans,” with its soul-pop stylings and urgent rhythm, twists lyrics like “You make me feel like a crazy bitch” into an unlikely message of empowerment. “I wrote that song partly as a way to deal with a few situations where I’d come off as weak, and really wanted to prove myself,” says Geneviève. Interview magazine recently named “Shenanigans” their TRACK OF THE WEEK.

Additionally, the striking and coy music video for the lead single recently premiered on The video was directed by Gus Black can now be viewed on Vevo. Insert Video link

True to that real-and-soulful dynamic, the songs on Melancholy Fever capture true pain but also offer a soothing effect. “I found inspiration in my anxiety for this album and I realized I was writing a lot of the songs to help myself deal with the feelings and emotions I was having,” Bellemare points out. “It’s like I’m talking to myself in the lyrics, trying to work things out so that I can handle them better.” So while it’s bracingly honest and intimate, Melancholy Fever ultimately leans toward a warm, wistful mood reflected in the album’s title. “I gravitated towards the title because when putting this album together, I couldn’t seem to get away from a song that was kind of dark… So melancholy felt very fitting. Fever as well, because I was almost unable to escape that melancholy vibe I kept putting into the microphone,” says Bellemare.

Melancholy Fever Track Listing

  1. Hiding Space
  2. The Way
  3. Live and Die
  4. Burned
  5. Next One
  6. Don’t Make Me Over
  7. Better
  8. Riddle
  9. Shenanigans
  10. Stay
  11. You Love, You Love
  12. Boots and Back

About Geneviève Bellemare

A self-driven singer/songwriter, Geneviève Bellemare instills her music with moody soulfulness and an inventive sense of melody.   The 23 year-old Vancouver native’s delicate and powerful vocals have been honed through a near lifetime of practice.   Geneviève moved to Oregon at 11 years old and by age 20 she signed with Verve Music Group chairman David Foster after her version of “The Hills” (a sparse and sultry quasi-cover of the title song from The Sound of Music).

About Verve Music Group

Verve is Universal Music Group’s American contemporary label with an active artist roster that includes Andrea Bocelli, Diana Krall, Mark Knopfler, Ledisi, Dirty Loops, Sarah McLachlan, Yuna and Barry Manilow, to name a few. David Foster, a 16-time Grammy Award-winning producer, has served as Verve’s Chairman since 2012. When Verve was founded in 1956, the label made a name for itself as the home of jazz legends including Ella Fitzgerald, Bill Evans, Nina Simone, Oscar Peterson, Stan Getz and Billie Holiday. Verve also controls the catalog of the legendary Impulse! Records, which brought the world iconic records from John Coltrane, Charles Mingus, and many more.

Genevieve Bellemare “Melancholy Fever” Pre-Order Today at:iTunes: Play: 



  • Images with a data-picture-mapping attribute will be responsive, with a file size appropriate for the browser width.